2020-2021 KLA Officers and Chairs

    2020-2021 KLA Council Roster

    Executive Committee (Voting)

    President Meagan Zampieri (Hays Public Library)
    1st Vice President Holly Mercer (Dodge City Community College)
    2nd Vice President Shana Smith-Ritterhouse (Mulvane Public Library)
    Past President Robin Newell (Emporia Public Library)
    Secretary (2018-2020) Bethanie O'Dell (Emporia State University)
    Treasurer (2017-2019) Terri Wojtalewicz (Lancing Community Library)
    Executive Secretary George Seamon (Northwest Kansas Library System)
    Parliamentarian (2018-2020) *Non-voting Dan Ireton (Kansas State University)

    Elected Representative Positions (Voting)

    ALA Councilor (2021-2023) Heather Van Dyne (Allen Community College)
    MPLA Representative (2021-2023) Maribeth Shafer (Central Kansas Library System)


    Standing Committee Chairs (Voting)

    Annual Conference

    Charge: To drive the KLA 2021 Conference and Conference Planning

    Holly Mercer (Dodge City Community College)

    Bylaws and Organizational Manual 

    Charge: To revise the bylaws as needed and create a KLA Conference Manual that can be used as a guide for future conferences

    Robin Newell (Emporia Public Library)


    Charge: To improve the KLA Budget process and develop fundraising processes for the KLA Conference

    Terri Wojtalewicz (Lancing Community Library)

    Governmental Affairs

    Charge: Chair the Governmental Affairs Committee and coordinate library advocacy efforts


    Gail Santy (Central Kansas Library System)



    Charge: To improve KLA Membership numbers



    Charge: To present awards to KLA members deserving of recognition

    Robin Newell (Emporia Public Library)

    Publications, Promotion, Publicity

    Charge: To strengthen KLA’s communication with its members and promote and publicize the KLA Conference

    William Ottens (Lawrence Public Library)

    Strategic Planning Committee

    Charge: To drive the KLA Strategic Plan and make it work for the organization

    Meagan Zampieri (Hays Public Library)

    Presidential Awards - *Includes Best Small Public Library Award

    Charge: To determine presidential and the Best Small Public Library in Kansas award winners 

    Robin Newell (Emporia Public Library)


    Appointed Council Members (Voting)

    Archivist / Historian (Annual Appointment)

    Teresa Coble - Temporary Position (Kansas Historical Society) 


    Section Chairs (Voting)

    College and University Libraries (CULS) Teresa Mayginnes (Butler Community College)
    Kansas Association of School Librarians (KASL) Tonya Foster (Topeka Public Schools)
    Public Library Section (PLS)  

    Affiliated Council Members (Non-Voting)

    Friends of Kansas Libraries (FoKL) Amy Brucker
    Government Information Literacy & Civic Engagement Brian Gribben (Fort Hays State University)
    Information Network of Kansas (INK)  
    KLA Educational Foundation Ray Walling (Baker University)
    KLA Webmaster
    Bethanie O'Dell (Emporia State University)
    School of Library and Information Management (SLIM) Sandy Valenti (Emporia State University)
    State Library of Kansas Eric Norris