Kansas Library Association Presidential Awards

By , 08/26/2015

As the President of the Kansas Library Association I am pleased to announce the recipients of the KLA Presidential Awards. Awards will be presented at the KLA / MLA Joint Conference on Thursday, Oct. 1st from 5:00 – 7:00 pm.

Library Advocate: This award is presented in recognition of exemplary leadership or support for growth and development of the Kansas Library Association and/or a library or libraries in Kansas. The year’s recipient is Senator Pat Pettey representing Kansas City Kansas. As her nomination letter reads, “She is always inquiring about the needs of the library and wants to be kept abreast of what is going on. When there is a need, she is willing to do whatever she can to assist (libraries)…”

New Professional: This award is given to a new professional that has made a positive impact on the quality of library service and/or the role of library personnel in Kansas. This year’s recipient is Lauren Hays from Mabee Library, MidAmerica Nazarene University. As her nomination states, “Her list of accomplishments and new initiatives is remarkable – and even mind-boggling”.

Library Personnel: The Library Personnel award is given to an individual who has made notable contributions to the library profession, furthered significant development of libraries in Kansas, or performed exemplary service for an extended period of time. This year we are presenting the award to Rhonda Machlan from the State Library of Kansas. In her nomination form, Rhonda is described as “a bastion of knowledge, competence, and common sense.” It goes on to state that, “She consistently does her homework on new technologies and vendor upgrades, and advocates for the needs of all of the sizes and types of Kansas libraries she supports in her role as Resource Sharing Specialist (a title that doesn’t begin to describe her areas of expertise).”

Meritorious Service: The individual receiving this award is given in recognition of exemplary and sustained service to the benefit of Kansas libraries and library users and/or the Kansas Library Association. This year the award recipient is Kathleen Rippel, recently retired from the Central Library Kansas System after 17 years of service with them. Kathy’s contribution to the Kansas Library community is described as “resource sharing and access with a strong customer service orientation to successfully get people what they want” along with working and leading from the trenches providing a “solid source of guidance and inspiration.”

Terri Summey

KLA President

buy essay

Panorama Theme by Themocracy