Evaluate Conference

By , 04/12/2012

Online Evaluation and 

Program Session Evaluation

for the 2012 Kansas Library Conference
I Geek Kansas Libraries

are now open.

Visit the 2012 Conference Web site for Handouts

For fun: Jeff Imparato’s Engeeklopedia Kansasiana (5/17/2012)


Distinguished Kansan Clare Vanderpool speaking at KLA

By , 01/03/2012

The Public Library Section of KLA is pleased to announce that Clare Vanderpool, winner of the 2011 Newbery Medal for her book Moon over Manifest, is speaking at the Kansas Library Conference in Wichita.  Vanderpool has also been declared the Distinguished Kansan for literary arts!

A bit about Clare from her Web site:

If you ask anyone who knows me, they will tell you that I have a very strong connection to place. I live in Wichita, Kansas, about four blocks from where I grew up, in an old neighborhood called College Hill. From my house I can walk to my parents’ house, my sister’s house, the school I went to and where my kids go now, the pool, the sledding hill, and two bookstores!

PLS Virtual Conference with Stephanie Gerding and Stephanie Hall

By , 11/30/2011

Doing More With Less:
a virtual retreat hosted by the Kansas Library Association, Public Library Section

Date: December 7, 2011
Time: 10:00 – 2:30
Where: The retreat will be delivered via Elluminate so you can participate right at your desk
Cost: PLS members cost is $10, non-members cost is $20.
Registration: Is Open Online  – Search for “PLS 2011 Virtual Retreat Doing More With Less”

For more information, view our PLS Virtual Retreat flyer (.pdf).

Public Library Section members have listed the retreat as an important part of the their section membership. We hope you will feel the same and join us for this value-packed virtual retreat!

More about the speakers:

Stephanie Gerding will be presenting an expanded version of her virtual presentation, at PLA in Philadelphia in Spring 2012.

Stephanie Hall was invited to be on a panel discussing Senior Services at ALA, in New Orleans in 2006. ALA held the distinction of being the first major conference held in New Orleans, after Hurricane Katrina.

Presidential Award Recipients

By , 11/08/2011

Please join me in congratulating those who were honored with a Kansas Library Association 2011 Presidential Award:

  • Library Advocate – Senator Jean Kurtis Schodorf (not pictured)
  • Library Personnel – Jaime Prothro
  • Meritorious Service – Fred Atchison
  • Meritorious Service- Laura DeBaun
  • New Professional – Megan Schulz
Jim Minges was presented with the Duane Johnson Library Leadership Award, as well.


Panorama Theme by Themocracy