Presidential Awards

By , 02/01/2012

Home > About Presidential Awards

KLA Presidential Awards

Do you know someone who deserves recognition for their service to Kansas libraries? Let us know.

2016 Presidential Awards: 

Library Advocates – Rep. Tom Sawyer and Rep. Don Hineman
New Professional – Sara Dixon
Library Personnel – Polli Kenn
Meritorious Service – Chris Rippel

2015 Presidential Awards:

Library Advocate – Senator Pat Pettey
New Professional – Lauren Hays
Library Personnel – Rhonda Machlan
Meritorious Service – Kathy Rippel

2014 Presidential Awards:

Library Advocate – Richard Crowson
New Professional – Savannah Ball
Library Personnel – Julie Tomlianovich
Meritorious Service – Jim Minges

2013 Presidential Awards:

Library Advocate – Sue Blechl
Library Personnel – Charlene McGuire
Meritorious Service – Marquita Boehnke
Meritorious Service – Roy Bird
New Professional – Caleb May

2012 Presidential Awards:

Library Advocate – Dr. Marshall Havenhill
Library Personnel – Kathleen Morgan
Meritorious Service – Cindi Hickey
Meritorious Service- Donna Lauffer
New Professional – Kate Wise

2011 Presidential Awards:

Library Advocate – Senator Jean Kurtis Schodorf
Library Personnel – Jaime Prothro
Meritorious Service – Fred Atchison
Meritorious Service- Laura DeBaun
New Professional – Megan Schulz

2010 Presidential Awards:

Library Advocate – Wichita Mayor Carl Brewer
Library Personnel – Marc Galbraith
Meritorious Service – Cindy Roupe
Meritorious Service – Lorie Hyten
New Professional – Heather Braum

2009 Presidential Awards:

Library Advocate – Vicki Tiarht
New Professional – Eric Gustafson
Meritorious Service – Janet Fowler
Library Personnel – Jean Hatfield

2008 Presidential Awards:

Library Advocate – Michael Byington
New Professional – Andrew Evans
Meritorious Service – Rosanne Siemens
Meritorious Service – Wichita Public Library Staff
Lifetime Achievement – Vikki Jo Stewart

2007 Presidential Awards:

Library Advocate – Craig Penzler
Library Advocate Statewide – Representative Geraldine Flaharty
New Professional – Royce Kitts
Meritorious Conduct – Carol Nazar
Lifetime Achievement – Jane Hatch
Library Personnel – Wichita Public Library Staff

2006 Presidential Awards:

New Professional – Jaime Prothro
Meritorious Service – Midge Jones
Library Personnel – Barbara Dew

2005 Presidential Awards:

Library Advocate – Marge Zachora
Meritorious Service – Denise Smith
Library Personnel – Jim Minges

2004 Presidential Awards:

Library Advocate – Joe Rodriquez
New Professional – Thomas Reddick
Meritorious Service – Terry Sartoriour

2003 Presidential Awards:

Library Advocate – Lois Ruby
New Professional – Kate Capps
Meritorious Service – John and Susan Howell
Meritorious Service – Edwin E. Francis
Meritorious Service – Staff of Hutchinson Public Library and South Central Kansas Library System
Library Personnel – John Stratton
Library Personnel – Leroy Gattin

2002 Presidential Awards:

Library Advocate – Lt. Governor Gary Sherrer
Library Personnel – Mona Carmack
New Professional – Helen Hokanson

2001 Presidential Awards:

Library Personnel – Jeff Hixon
New Professional – Heidi Dressler-Kelly

2000 Presidential Awards:

Library Personnel – Betty Cattrell
Library Advocate – Robert W. Richmond
New Professional – Rosalee Ann Pettle

1999 Presidential Awards:

New Professional – Michelle Rice
Library Personnel – Freda Dobbins
Library Advocate – Ellen Miller

1998 Presidential Awards:

Library Advocate – John & Susan Howell
Library Personnel – Rowena Olsen

1997 Presidential Awards:

Library Personnel – Janet Anderson-Story
Library Personnel – Ray Santee

1996 Presidential Awards:

New Professional – Patti Mersmann
Distinguished Librarian – Bruce Flanders & Michael Piper
Library Advocate – Barbara Wunsch

1994 Presidential Awards:

Library Personnel – Winnie Lichtenwalter
Library Personnel – Louise Synder
Non-Library Person – Charles Engel
Non-Library Person – David Flask

1992 Presidential Awards:

Library Personnel – Patricia Gaunce

1991 Presidential Awards:

Non-library Persons – Julia and Ed Hobbs

1989 Presidential Awards:

Non-library Person – Judie Doll, editor of Hays Daily News

1987 Presidential Awards:

Distinguished Service Award – Duane Johnson

1986 Presidential Awards:

Public Service Citations to Governor John Carlin and State Senator Ross Doyen
President’s Citation to Betty Kasey

Panorama Theme by Themocracy